

OFFICERS

Dr. Derrick L. Foward President Mattie P. White 1st Vice President Tom. M. Roberts 2nd Vice President Willie A. Terrell, Jr. 3rd Vice President Clair Mae Thompson

Secretary Lauretta Williams Assistant Secretary

Tiwona L. Branham Treasurer

Harvey C. Bolden Assistant Treasurer

Jessie O. Gooding President, Emeritus

EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

Rev. Renard D. Allen, Jr. Religious Affairs Stacey D. Benson-Taylor Rev. Herman E. Branhar Chaplain **Tiwona L. Branham** Tiwona L. Branham
Finance
Advisor, Move Foward Thurgood Marshall
Chris R. Corne
Labor & Industry
Lu Dole, MA,
Freedom Fund
Charlie M. Edmonson
Prison Branch
Eric L. Ellington, Sr.
Sergeant-at-Arms
Dr. Derrick L. Foward
Advisor, Dayton Youth Council Advisor, Dayton Youth Rev. Dr. David I. Fox Youth Council Malachi Gibson President, Move Foward Thurgood Marshall Ina M. Green Membership and Life Member Ja'Shawn W. Gurley President, LJYC Felicia A. Hill, R.N. Health
Atty. Gary J. Leppla
Environmental & Climate Justice Environmental & Climate Justice Legal Redress Cedric L. McGhee ACT-SO David L. Montgomery GOTV Ayokunle O. Ogunduyile International Affairs Tom M. Roberts Political Action Jacla M. Robinson President, Dayton Youth Council Derrick Scales, Sr. Christopher L. Shaw Scott Silver Communications, Press & Publicit

Communications, Press & Publicity Pamela D. Sloan Advisor, Littlejohn Junior Youth Council Deborah A. Smith Housing William Thomas Spear Building Maintenance Willie A. Terrell, Jr.

Willie A. Terrell, Jr.
Scholarship
Kayelin L. Tiggs
Women in NAACP (WIN)
Mattle White
Community Coordination
Rev. Arthur L. Williams, Jr.
Young Adult
Dinah M. Williams
Lauretta Williams
Lauretta Williams
Education
Terrence Williams, SMSgt USAF (Ret)
Armed Services and Veterans Affairs
Roland Winburn
Economic Development

Economic Development

National Association for the Advancement of Colored People

915 Salem Ave. · Dayton, Ohio 45406 (937) 222-2172 · FAX (937) 222-8984 · www.naacpdayton.org

"Where There Is Unity, There Is Strength"

December 12, 2022

Members State Board of Education of Ohio 25 South Front St. Columbus, Ohio 43215-4183

Dear State Board of Education Members:

I, Derrick L. Foward, President of the Dayton Unit of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored (NAACP) in the City of Dayton, County of Montgomery, State of Ohio,

Do hereby state the following: Dayton Unit NAACP #3181, do not support Inferior Academic Expectations/Goals (54.8) for African American Students in the State of Ohio.

We believe the State, under the 14th Amendment, should set Equal Academic Expectations/Goals for all students, as it has for the past 10 years.

Setting Inferior Academic Expectations/Goals (54.8) for African American Students and Superior Academic Expectations/Goals (84.3) for Caucasian Students goes against the 1954 U.S. Supreme Court's Decision in Brown v. Board of Education and Title VI of the 1964 Civil Rights Act passed by the U.S. Congress and signed by the President of the United States.

Reversing this racial disparity, will demonstrate your support for the 1954 U.S. Supreme Court's Decision in Brown v. Board of Education and Title VI of the 1964 Civil Rights Act passed by the U.S. Congress and signed by the President of the United States.

Your community servant,

Dr. Derrick L. Foward

President

Dayton Unit NAACP

"Undeniable Power!"