

National Association for the Advancement of Colored People

1326 Collingwood Blvd. Toledo, Ohio 43604 Phone: (419) 214-1551; www.naacptoledo.org

"Where There is Unity, there is Strength"

Executive Committee Officers:

President

Dr. Willie Perryman, III 1st Vice-President Michael Alexander, Sr. 2nd Vice -President Doris Roberts 3rd Vice-President WilliAnn Moore Treasurer Frances Amison Assistant Treasurer Beatrice Daniels

<u>Executive</u> <u>Committee</u> <u>Chairs/Members:</u>

ACT-SO

Bea Daniels / **Robin Reese Armed Services** Clarence Gaffney Communications Lenette Holden **Criminal Justice** Anita Madison **Economic Development** Teresa Moore Education WilliAnn Moore Finance **Frances Amison Freedom Fund** Carleton S. Finkbeiner Health Erika White Housing Sena Maroud / **Darryl Jones** Labor & Industry Darlene Sweeney-Newbern

January 17, 2023

Members State Board of Education of Ohio 25 South Front St. Columbus, Ohio 43215-4183

Dear State Board of Education Members:

I, Dr. Willie Perryman, III of the Toledo Unit of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored (NAACP) in the City of Toledo, County of Lucas, State of Ohio.

Do hereby state the following: Our Unit 3204 of the NAACP, do <u>not</u> support Inferior Academic Expectations / Goals (54.8) for African American Students in the State of Ohio.

We believe the State, under the 14th Amendment, should set Equal Academic Expectations / Goals for <u>all</u> students, as it has for the past 13 years.

Setting Inferior Academic Expectations / Goals (54.8) for African American / Black Students and Superior Academic Expectations / Goals (84.3) for White Students goes against the 1954 U.S. Supreme Court's Decision in Brown vs. Board of Education and Title VI of the 1964 Civil Rights Act passed by the U.S. Congress and signed by the President of the United States.

Reversing this racial disparity, will demonstrate your support for the 1954 U.S. Supreme Court's Decision in Brown vs. Board of Education and Title VI of the 1964 Civil Rights Act passed by the U.S. Congress and signed by the President of the United States.

Your Community Servant,

Dr. Willie Perryman, III President

| Media Anita Madison Membership Lenette Holden Political Action Pete Miller / WilliAnn Moore Historian Kim Penn Prison Vacancy | Toledo Unit NAACP | |
|---|-------------------|---------------------------|
| Religious Affairs WIN-Sharon Roach Youth & College Doris Roberts / Brittany Jones Members Terry Crosby/ Leon Fitzpatrick Claudia Pressley | | "The Struggle Continues!" |