About Us

The Ohio Conference of Units of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP) has been a vital programmatic component of the NAACP for almost a century. The NAACP is the oldest, most effective and most respected civil rights organization in the Nation. The Ohio Conference has played a pivotal role in moving the agenda for freedom and equality forward under the leadership of dynamic State Conference Presidents, each of whom addressed critical issues during their tenure.

Vision Statement

The vision of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People is to ensure a society in which all individuals have equal rights without discrimination based on race.


The following statement of objectives is found on the first page of the NAACP Constitution – the principal objectives of the Association shall be:
  • To ensure the political, educational, social, and economic equality of all citizens

  • To achieve equality of rights and eliminate race prejudice among the citizens of the United States

  • To remove all barriers of racial discrimination through democratic processes

  • To seek enactment and enforcement of federal, state, and local laws securing civil rights

  • To inform the public of the adverse effects of racial discrimination and to seek its elimination

  • To educate persons as to their constitutional rights and to take all lawful action to secure the exercise thereof, and to take any other lawful action in furtherance of these objectives, consistent with the NAACP’s Articles of Incorporation and this Constitution.

Executive Committee

1st Vice President
2nd Vice President
3rd Vice President
Assistant Secretary
Assistant Treasurer

Executive Committee Chairs

ACT-SO Chair
Tiaja Johnson
Armed Services & Veterans Affairs Chair
Communications Chair
Criminal Justice Chair
Education Chair
Environmental & Climate Justice Chair
Freedom Fund Chair & Strategist
Health Chair
Housing Chair
Royo Mayo
Legal Redress Chair
Religious Affairs Chair
State Compliance Officer & Training Chair
State Youth & College President
State Youth & College Advisor Chair
WIN Chair
Monique Connor
Youth Works Chair